Rodger Swan

“Rest in peace Rodger Swan. You are an inspiration to the whole community. You will not be forgotten. My thoughts and condolences go out to friends and family. Although I did not know him personally, he did help me out with his videos. For that I am most grateful. The world has lost another great person way way too young. I light a candle in your honor.”

These were the words I wrote to Rodger Swan’s YT page. Under 1,700+ comments of condolences and RIPs and letters of support to his friends and family written by everybody in the J-learning community. As the half year anniversary is coming up, you will see me and I’m sure others lighting a candle in his honor. As I will do the same at the 1st year anni and the next.

The death came hard to me because it was not long ago (The 13th of that month to be precise) when I lost my mother. So, this month, I’m remembering both my mother and Rodger Swan by lighting candles in their honor. When the 26th/27th does come be sure to say a prayer/light a candle/have a drink in his honor. This man should not be forgotten for what he’s contributed to the J-learning community as a whole. And the lives he’s touched not only in person but through the internet with his compassion, humility and smiles.

A memorial fund has been set up at Western Michigan University called the Rodger Swan Memorial Fund for Japanese Studies. To donate to the fund please click the link: http://www.causes.com/causes/440596/about

If you would prefer to donate by check, please make out the check to “WMUF: Rodger Swan Memorial Fund” and send it to the following address.

WMU Gift Processing
1903 W. Michigan Ave.
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5403 USA

Last I checked almost 900 people have joined the cause to helping this memorial fund. I would like to extend a thank you to every single person who has donated in the past and in the future and have spread word about this. Thank you.

There have been many montages and dedications of YT videos to Rodger Swan on the internet. I’d like to extend a thank you to everybody out there that has done one.

Leave a Reply

