Remember, remember the Third of November. Bringing, Bringing the Cheer in November.

I was born in the year of the dragon, year ’88 representing! On the third of November, I’m turning 22. Every year I reveal to recipient(s) how much I’ve given back to my community in whatever way I can. Through volunteering, giving, and good old sweat labor I make a big contribution leading up to and on my birthday to a group that I love. When other people are happy, I’m happy and thats the kind of gift that I enjoy the most!

And this year? *Drum Rolls*

This year’s group is Nanowrimo. *Cheers*

This year I’m helping NaNoWriMo in my area by hosting Write-In events, online write-ins and doing free promotion through the internet, on my campus and word of mouth. I’ve not been keeping official track of how many hours I’ve worked towards supporting NaNoWriMo (but I think I’ve logged in ten hours so far) but I’m guessing through the month of November, I’ll be pulling in at least 40 hours of my time for this organization.

Also:

In lieu of any kind of gift for me, I would be happy if you made a donation to NaNoWriMo. The Office of Letters and Light, the non-profit organization behind NaNoWriMo built to enhance the love of novel writing with their adult writing program as well as their Young Writers Program. You’d be helping hundreds of thousands of kids and adults discover the joy of novel writing and possibly have a helping hand in making the next J.K. Rowling!

Feel free to sponsor me here or to do the old fashioned donation click here. And Here is a FAQ on donations.

Thanks for promoting awesome, awesome people.

I’ve always been a big supporter of giving back to my community. In previous years I donated the equivalent of $100 worth of my time to my favorite club, The Japanese Culture and Language Club. Meaning for the amount of sweat I shed, they got club money to spend. The year before that I clocked in 40 hours of community service to my college helping kids and fellow students and clubs.

Every year I’ve done this, I’ve not regretted it. I’m a more of a fan of giving than receiving stuff anyways. When I can help other people out, that makes me smile and thats the kind of gift I like the best.

One response to “Remember, remember the Third of November. Bringing, Bringing the Cheer in November.

  1. Pingback: The Year In Review « bakageek

Leave a Reply

