Distracted by Shiny Ideas and what to do about them

So I know I was saying ‘next post, I’ll do more goal stuff’ but right now I’m not even sure if I’m going to Wash State Uni Vancouver or Portland State. I’m swamped with stuff to do. Until I have that figured out and all registered, then I’ll do more goal stuff.

For now I just wanted to sit down and talk about shiny new ideas that are basically like crack.

Hello, I’m Eli Omans and I’m addicted to new ideas.

When I get a new idea, usually in the middle of my project, I write them down as much as I can and set them aside. Whenever I do get done with the next project, I open up my processor to look at the next batch of ideas. Some of the ideas sounds terrible usually since I’ve had some distance from them. Although I have to say when I do get them that I like, I test drive them with short fiction and lots of pre-writing and thinking. As I said in some of my previous posts, I don’t start writing a new novel until I’m absolutely committed to finishing the draft.

One time, I was totally committed to finishing 2 novels in 1 month, back in November. I hit an unexpected bump in the road, nothing my fault really, I just couldn’t figure out what to do and I became uninterested in what I was writing that I dropped it. I gleaned some great information in how I work under pressure as well, which, ya know, is freaking awesome and worth its weight in gold.

Even though technically I’m not under a deadline with my novels right now, I write like I’m under a deadline. I always set an ending date for the first draft or I will sit and procrastinate hard like a mother effer because thats what I do…and in some regards a lot of writers do.

Writing down the ideas that distract you on the current project and putting them aside is what I do, how do you go about keeping on track with your project?

 

Leave a Reply

